top of page
1-512.webp

School
Resources

Preschool - Kindergarten

BookFlix

Paired fiction and non-fiction e-books on a wide variety of subjects. By Scholastic. Pre-K - 3rd grade.

(GCPL)

Britannica Fundamentals

Early childhood education through four unique and engaging paths for learning: Play, Read, Create, & Explore.

(KYVL)

TumbleBook Library

A large collection of illustrated Read-Along picture books to help children learn to read.

(KYVL)

Elementary School

Britannica Library - Children

Encyclopedia entries, magazine articles, images, and videos for grades K-5.

(KYVL)

Britannica School - Elementary

Articles, images, and videos on a wide variety of the most commonly studied school subjects for grades K-5.

(KYVL)

Explora - Elementary

Easy-to-search articles, essays, and primary sources for grades K-5.

(GCPL)

Scholastic Go!

Encyclopedia-style articles and illustrations for non-fiction subjects. 2nd - 8th grade.

(GCPL)

ScienceFlix

Curriculum-based math and science-based subjects scaled to each grade level. By Scholastic. 4th - 8th grade. 

(GCPL)

TrueFlix

History and biography e-books and videos. By Scholastic. 3rd - 8th grade.

(GCPL)

Middle School

Britannica School - Middle School

Articles, images, and videos on a wide variety of the most commonly studied school subjects for grades 6-8.

(KYVL)

Explora - Middle School

Easy-to-search articles, essays, and primary sources for grades 6-8.

High School

Britannica Library - Young Adult

Encyclopedia entries, magazine articles, images, and videos for grades 9-12.

(KYVL)

Britannica School - High School

Articles, images, and videos on a wide variety of the most commonly studied school subjects for grades 9-12.

(KYVL)

Explora - High School

Easy-to-search articles, essays, and primary sources for grades 9-12.

(GCPL)

Method Test Prep - ACT/SAT Test Prep

Units, lessons, and quizzes to help prepare for the ACT & SAT. Patrons must enter through Overdrive's Libby app through a device or computer browser, then sign in using your GCPL card.

[GCPL (under Extras)]

Academic Research

Britannica - Academic

College-level research papers and articles written by Nobel laureates, historians, professors, and other notable experts.

(KYVL)

Britannica Library - Reference

Encyclopedia entries, magazine articles, images, and videos for upper high school and adult researchers.

(KYVL)

Explora - Library

Easy-to-search articles, essays, and primary sources.

(GCPL)

Funk & Wagnell's New Encyclopedia

Over 25,000 encyclopedia articles from Funk & Wagnell's most up-to-date publications. 

(KYVL)

Gale Opposing Viewpoints

Articles, essays, and more that explore opposing sides of issues. Perfect for persuasive and comparative research projects. 

(KYVL)

Kentucky Digital Library

Built to enhance scholarship, research and lifelong learning by providing access to shared digital archival collections in the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

KDLA e-Archives 

A collection of digital and digitized files from Kentucky state governmental agencies, cabinets, and committees.

Universal Class

Enroll in continuing education courses; work at your own pace.

(GCPL)

School Resources
Genealogy
R.png

Local History
& Genealogy

GCPL Grant County Interactive Historical Map

An interactive Google map that has over 800 historical location markers (and growing) that connects current Grant County with it's incredible past.

Cemeteries of Grant County

An interactive Google map that has placed the majority of public, private, and family cemeteries located in Grant County.

Ancestry.org

Access to census, birth, death, marriage, military , and immigration records.

(KYVL)

Heritage Quest

Access to census records, historical newspapers and periodicals. 

(GCPL)

Audio-Visual

hoopla

Borrow and enjoy audiobooks, ebooks, comics, movies, TV, magazines and music everywhere you have a screen- your computer, phone, car, even TV.

Kentucky Libraries Unbound

Consortium of KY libraries that offer free e-books, e-audiobooks, music, and videos. 

(GCPL)

Freegal

Free music downloads from a catalog of over 13 million songs

(GCPL)

EBSCO e-Book Collection

ebooks covering topics like American history, science, literature, and more. Scroll down the screen until you see the eBooks link.

(KYVL)

Teen Book Cloud

Collection of fiction and non-fiction e-books for teens.

TumbleBook Library

Collection of e-books for K - 6th graders.

Audio-Visual

img_517827.png
W & JS

Adult Core Skills

Helps adults reach their personal, educational, and career goals.

Business Source Premier

Full-text articles from professional business journals.

(KYVL)

Computer Skills Center

Video courses that provide a fast and easy way to learn how to use the computer.

GED Test Prep 

Practice tests, interactive tutorials, and ebooks to help pass the GED.

ProQuest Career & Technical Education

Full articles on subjects of all major professions and trades.

(KYVL)

Reference Solutions

Real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on US businesses and US residents.

(GCPL)

Universal Class

Enroll in continuing education courses; work at your own pace.

(GCPL)

Job Skills
& Workforce

3697372.png

Auto Repair Source

Repair manuals for US and foreign autos as far back as 1954.

(GCPL)

Indie Author Project

Publish personal works and make them available to other library patrons. 

Learning Express

Skill building videos and tutorials on subjects like adult reading, computer skills, and career information. 

Mango Languages

Learning tutorials for 38 languages with written and oral instruction.  

(Asks for profile creation)

be24187de4f3d3ef82bb3739203d5320.png

Do It Yourself

Do It Yourself
Newspapers

Access World News

Explore and stay informed on local, national and international topics, people and events. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources from around the world to around the corner, including Grant County News, The Columbus Dispatch and Lexington Herald-Leader. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

(GCPL)

Grant County News

Access to current and past articles from the Williamstown, KY-based newspaper.

(GCPL)

Newspaper Source

Cover-to-cover full text U.S. regional, national, and international newspapers. Includes major netowork TV and radio transcripts

(KYVL)

ProQuest Alt-Press Watch

Offers a wide range of unfettered, critical coverage of the news

(KYVL)

Regional Business News

Provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada.

(KYVL)

R-1.png

Newspapers
& Magazines

bottom of page