Databases


America’s News
America’s News
Find information on topics related to business, community issues and events, education, health, homework help, politics and more from a variety of news media including newspapers, newswires, blogs, videos and web-only content including the Grant County News and Express, Daily News, Lexington Herald-Leader and USA Today!

Ancestry.com
Ancestry.com
This database is available to patrons for use within the library for genealogy research. Access records including Census, birth, death, marriage, military and immigration records and search for ancestors’ names in historical newspapers and periodicals. Ancestry is not available to patrons outside the library.

Auto Repair Reference Center
Auto Repair Reference Center
Access repair manuals for automobiles as far back as 1954. Simply choose the year, make and model of your car to access manuals and wiring diagrams for your automobile. Instructions with diagrams can be printed or emailed.

Biblioboard
Biblioboard
Borrow and enjoy books, articles, documents, comic books, and more from a variety of self-published authors and traditional publishers.

Britannica Library
Britannica Library
Offers three unique sites for children, young adults, and older patrons. With Britannica Library, it’s easy to choose an age-appropriate level for conducting research, completing homework assignments, and working on special projects in the library or at home.

Career Transitions
Career Transitions
Career Transitions is a guided, self-paced program that walks users through the entire employment process - assessing strengths and interests, providing information on new opportunities and growing industries, preparing a resume and cover letter, finding educational opportunities and networking advice, performing a comprehensive job search and completing online job applications.

Find a Topic
Freegal
Find information on topics related to all categories including business, education, the environment, health, international issues, jobs and careers, politics, social issues, sports and technology.

Freegal
Freegal
The downloads on this site are all in the MP3 format with no DRM. This service will work with any MP3 player, including iPod, and can be loaded into iTunes. It works on both PCs and Macs. Be sure to check out the browsing areas, especially Artists A to Z and the genre lists.

Grant County News and Express
Grant County News and Express
Find information on topics related to community issues and events, education, government, politics and sports..

Grolier Online Passport
Grolier Online Passport
Access to the following encyclopedias: The New Book of Knowledge, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia Americana, and Amazing Animals of the World.

Heritage Quest Online
Heritage Quest
Access this genealogy database in the library or from home with your library card. Search for your ancestors in Census records as well as historical newspapers and periodicals. Also includes the Freedman’s Bank founded to serve African Americans.

KDLA E-archives
Archives
A collection of digital and digitized files from all across state government arranged by agency, cabinet, and committee. Files include images. Please contact KDLA or the agency to determine if images are copyright protected before redistribution.

Kentucky Libraries Unbound
Free Downloads
Grant County Public Library is a member of this consortium that offers free electronic material that you can download to your computer, audio device, or eReader. Use your library card to access thousands of classic and new popular eBooks, eAudiobooks, music, and videos.

KYVL Databases
KYVL
Kentucky Virtual Library is a collection of database for all ages provided by the state of Kentucky. KYVL includes Grolier encyclopedias and databases geared for children; scholarly databases for college students; and databases for general research for Kentucky residents of all ages. KYVL is accessible from within the library or from home with the current login and password. Please contact the library for current login information for access from home.

Learning Express
Learning Express
An updated edition of our popular learning material and practice tests. New GED 2014 material will be available in late January. The original Learning Express portal will go down in June 2014. Click here to access the new material and interface.

LegalForms
Legal Forms
Gale Legal Forms provides free legal templates for common topics such as divorce, real estate, and small claims. Available within the library and from home with current password. Please contact the library for current login information for access from home.

Mango Languages
Mango Languages
Access learning tutorials for 38 languages with written and oral instruction and pronunciation help. Learn a new language from home for free and get translations of short passages. Also includes English classes for English as Second Language students.

News Bank
News Bank
Use your library card to get access to up-to-date newspapers including the Grant County News & Express, several Kentucky newspapers, and other nationwide papers.

ReferenceUSA
ReferenceUSA
ReferenceUSA is the premier source of business and residential information for reference and research. ReferenceUSA offers the most up-to-date data available in the market. Its business and consumer databases are continuously updated from more than 5,000 public sources.

ScienceFlix
ScienceFlix
ScienceFlix combines curriculum-driven, leveled content, interactive features, and intuitive navigation into a single, highly-engaging digital resource for students in grades 4 through 9. To access while at the library: Click Here
SELF-e
Selfe
Publish your own works and make them available to other library patrons.

Small Business Collection
Small Business Collection
Gale Small Business Collection provides articles related to a range of business topics, how-to guides, sample business plans, and a direct link to Gale Legal Forms. Available within the library and from home with current password. Please contact the library for current login information for access from home.

TrueFlix
Trueflix
Use your library card to access dozens of non-fiction books for grade school children on a variety of topics such as systems of the human body, American history, weather phenomena, science subjects, and science experiments. To access while at the library: Click Here

Universal Class
Universal
Enroll in continuing education courses available through the internet 24/7. You attend class and work at your own pace; up to 6 months to finish each course. These are non-credit courses and are provided for personal enrichment, not as a substitute for educational requirements. Click Here

Zinio
Zinio
Zinio provides you with access to free digital magazines from Blackbook to Bloomberg, from Adweek to Newsweek, from GQ to OK, their magazines are from everywhere, about everything and for every taste. Click Here